--- title: "Inactivating a Learning Plan" slug: "inactivating-a-learning-plan" updated: 2022-06-22T20:38:26Z published: 2022-06-22T20:38:26Z canonical: "support.smarteru.com/inactivating-a-learning-plan" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.smarteru.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Inactivating a Learning Plan In order to preserve the history of any actions or records, there is no delete function in SmarterU. While it's not possible to delete a learning plan, you can deactivate a [learning plan](/v1/docs/learning-plans) by changing its status to *Inactive*. Refer to the [Learning Plan Status Comparison Chart](/v1/docs/inactivating-a-learning-plan#learning-plan-status-comparison-chart) for more details. ## Learning Plan Status Comparison Chart | | **Active** | **Inactive** | | --- | --- | --- | | Learning plan can be assigned to users | ✓ | X Users who were [assigned the learning plan](/v1/docs/assigning-learning-plans-to-a-user) before its status changed will still be assigned the learning plan, but their completion status will be "frozen". [Certifications](/v1/docs/certifications) and [requirements](/v1/docs/requirements) associated with the learning plan will not be assigned to the user. | | Learning plan included in [certification summaries](/v1/docs/certification-status-summary) on dashboard | ✓ | X | | Learning plan included in [Learning Plan Report](/v1/docs/learning-plan-report) | ✓ | ✓ You will need to change the report's Learning Plan filter to include inactive learning plans. | ## Inactivating a Learning Plan To deactivate a learning plan: 1. [Edit the learning plan](/v1/docs/editing-a-learning-plan). 2. Set the **Status** setting to *Inactive*. 3. Click **Save**. ## Related - [Editing a Learning Plan](/editing-a-learning-plan.md) - [Learning Plan Report](/learning-plan-report.md) - [Viewing Inactive Records](/viewing-inactive-records.md)