Editing a Block's Courses
  • 5 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Editing a Block's Courses

  • Dark
    Light

Adding a Course to a Block

The impact of adding a course to a requirement that is already assigned to users will depend on the requirement's Extend Expiration Date setting. If the requirement's Extend Expiration Date setting is not checked, adding a course to the requirement may cause the certification status of users who have met the certification to change.

However, if the requirement's Extend Expiration Date setting is checked, the certification status of users who have met the certification will be unaffected when the course is added to the requirement. The length of time that the user's certification status continues to be met will depend on whether the Permanent or Sticky Until option is selected. 

To add a course to a block:

  1. From the Add/Edit Requirement Blocks section of the workscreen, select the course you want to add to the requirement block.
  2. Expand the course's accordion to specify the settings for the course.
  3. Click Save.

Administrators can click a course name in the requirements panel to view the course's details in the Courses Dashboard.

Course Settings

These settings require the course be added to the user's home group.

Automation Enrollment

Select the auto-enroll option for the course. 

The auto-enroll options will vary depending on the course type.
OptionApplicable Course TypesDescription

Do Not Auto Enroll

Online

Instructor-led

SCORM

Users who are assigned the requirement are not automatically enrolled in the course.

Once

Online

SCORM

Enrolls users who are assigned the requirement in the course as part of the learning plan's recommended course enrollments calculation if they have no existing enrollment in the course within the requirement's expiration period. 

For example, suppose a requirement expires every 365 days:

  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week, they would NOT be enrolled in the course.
  • If a user was last enrolled in the course two years ago, they would be enrolled in the course.

Until Pass

Online

SCORM

Re-enrolls users who are assigned the requirement in the course if they haven't passed the course within the requirement's expiration period. 

For example, suppose a requirement expires every 365 days:

  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week and passed, they would NOT be enrolled in the course.
  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week and failed, they would be added to the course-level waiting list. The user would continue to be added to the course-level waiting list until they passed.
  • If a user was last enrolled in the course two years ago and passed, they would be enrolled in the course.

Waiting List

Instructor-led

Adds users who are assigned the requirement to the course-level waiting list as part of the learning plan's recommended course enrollments calculation if they haven't been enrolled in the course within the requirement's expiration period. 

For example, suppose a requirement expires every 365 days:

  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week, they would NOT be added to the course-level waiting list.
  • If a user was last enrolled in the course two years ago, they would be added to the course-level waiting list.

Waiting List (Until Pass)

Instructor-led

Upon finalization of the course, this option adds users who are assigned the requirement to the course-level waiting list if they haven't passed the course within the requirement's expiration period.

For example, suppose a requirement expires every 365 days:

  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week and passed, they would NOT be added to the course-level waiting list.
  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week and failed, they would be enrolled in the course. The user would be added to the course-level waiting list until they passed.
  • If a user was last enrolled in the course two years ago and passed, they would be added to the course-level waiting list.

First Available

Instructor-led

Enrolls users who are assigned the requirement in the first available session of the course with available seats as part of the learning plan's recommended course enrollments calculation if they have no existing enrollment in the course within the requirement's expiration period.

For example, suppose a requirement expires every 365 days:

  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week, they would NOT be enrolled in the course.
  • If a user was last enrolled in the course two years ago, they would be enrolled in the next available session of the course. 

If there are no available sessions for the course, the user's name and course would be included in the recommended enrollments until an event that causes a recalculation to re-occur. These events may include saving changes to the user's profile, saving the learning plan, certification, or requirement, or attempting to process a recommended enrollment. 

First Available (Until Pass)

Instructor-led

Upon finalization of the course, this option re-enrolls users who are assigned the requirement in the first available session of the course that has available seats if they haven't passed the course within the requirement's expiration period. 

For example, suppose a requirement expires every 365 days:

  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week and passed, they would NOT be enrolled in the course.
  • If a user was enrolled in the course last week and failed, they would be enrolled in the next available session of the course. The user would continue to be re-enrolled in the subsequent next session of the course until they passed.
  • If a user was last enrolled in the course two years ago and passed, they would be enrolled in the next available session of the course.

If there are no available sessions for the course, the user's name and course would be included in the recommended enrollments until an event that causes a recalculation to re-occur. These events may include saving changes to the user's profile, saving the learning plan, certification, or requirement, or attempting to process a recommended enrollment. 

Self-Enroll

Select one of the following:

  • Yes - Enables users to self-enroll in the course.
  • No - Prevents users from self-enrolling in the course.

Send Automation Enrollment Notification

Select one of the following:

  • Yes - The account's selected Course Enrollment email template is sent to learners when they're automatically enrolled in the course. 
  • No - The account's selected Course Enrollment email template is not sent to learners when they're automatically enrolled in the course. 

Send Automation Enrollment Session Confirmation Notification

This setting is only available for instructor-led courses.

Select one of the following: 

  • Yes - The account's selected Confirm Attendance email template is sent to learners when they're automatically enrolled in the instructor-led course. 
  • No - The account's selected Confirm Attendance email template is not sent to learners when they're automatically enrolled in the instructor-led course.

Removing a Course from a Block

To remove the course from the block:

  1. Expand the course's accordion.
  2. Click Remove Course.

Removing a course from a block does NOT automatically un-enroll learners who have been enrolled in the course through the learning plan. You will need to manually unenroll learners from the course.

Was this article helpful?


What's Next